August 2016 Penguin Young Readers Highlights

By Ingrid Villegas | July 21 2016 | Children's

August is an EXPLOSIVE month for Penguin Young Readers titles!  This month we have a comedy about spontaneous combustion, a colorful adventure, a new book about a potential presidential candidate and a highly anticipated sequel.  Check out our highlights below.

978-0-399-53866-7
Young Adult Fiction - Social Themes - Friendship
Young Adult Fiction - Humorous - Black Comedy
Young Adult Fiction - Social Themes - Death & Dying
A darkly funny and spectacularly original exploration of friendship, goodbyes--and spontaneous combustion.
$12.00 US
Aug 23, 2016
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
368 Pages
Dutton Books for Young Readers
Age 14 and up
Grade 9 & Up
US, Canada, Open Mkt
Export Edition

978-0-399-53859-9
Juvenile Fiction - Fantasy & Magic
Juvenile Fiction - Social Themes - Friendship
Juvenile Fiction - Family - General (See Also Headings Under Social Themes)
The bestselling author of the Shatter Me series takes readers beyond the limits of their imagination in this captivating new middle grade adventure where color is currency, adventure is inevitable, and friendship is found in the most unexpected places.
$12.00 US
Aug 30, 2016
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
416 Pages
Dutton Books for Young Readers
Age 9-12 years
Grades 4-7
US, Canada, Open Mkt
Export Edition

978-0-448-49015-1
Juvenile Nonfiction - Biography & Autobiography - Presidents & First Families (U.S.)
Juvenile Nonfiction - Biography & Autobiography - Women
Juvenile Nonfiction - Biography & Autobiography - Political
Who Is Hillary Clinton? Readers of our New York Times best-selling series can find out now!
$5.99 US | $7.99 CAN
Aug 02, 2016
5-5/16 x 7-5/8
Paperback
112 Pages
Grosset & Dunlap
Age 8-12 years
Grades 3-7
World

978-1-101-99887-8
Young Adult Fiction - Fantasy - General
Young Adult Fiction - Politics & Government
Young Adult Fiction - Romance - General
The highly anticipated sequel to Sabaa Tahir's New York Times bestselling An Ember in the Ashes.
$19.95 US | $25.95 CAN
Aug 30, 2016
6 x 9
Hardcover
464 Pages
Razorbill
Age 14 and up
Grade 9 & Up
US, Canada, Open Mkt

The True Story of an American Team's Epic Journey to Win Gold at the 1936 Olympics
978-0-14-751685-5
Juvenile Nonfiction - History - United States - 20th Century
Juvenile Nonfiction - Sports & Recreation - Olympics
Juvenile Nonfiction - Sports & Recreation - Water Sports
The New York Times bestselling young readers adaptation of The Boys in the Boat, now in paperback with bonus content!
$10.99 US | $14.99 CAN
Aug 02, 2016
7 x 9
Paperback
256 Pages
Puffin Books
Age 10 and up
Grade 5 & Up
US, Canada, Open Mkt

978-0-14-751732-6
Young Adult Fiction - Family - Blended Families
Young Adult Fiction - Romance - General
Young Adult Fiction - Horror
A haunting, magically realistic YA debut about what happens when you search for what isn't meant to be found. For fans of We Were Liars, Maggie Stiefvater, and Meg Wolitzer--available in paperback.
$10.99 US | $14.99 CAN
Aug 02, 2016
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
320 Pages
Speak
Age 14 and up
Grade 9 & Up
US,CAN,OpnMkt(no EU)

978-0-448-48847-9
Juvenile Nonfiction - Biography & Autobiography - General
Juvenile Nonfiction - Games & Activities - Board Games
Juvenile Nonfiction - History - United States - 19th Century
Meet the man behind the board games: Milton Bradley.
$5.99 US | $7.99 CAN
Aug 02, 2016
5-5/16 x 7-5/8
Paperback
112 Pages
Grosset & Dunlap
Age 8-12 years
Grades 3-7
World

978-0-14-751554-4
Juvenile Fiction - Performing Arts - Circus
Juvenile Fiction - Family - Multigenerational
Juvenile Fiction - Fantasy & Magic
The Night Circus for middle grade--Big Fish meets Peter Pan in this magical story of a boy, his grandfather, a mysterious circus, and the power of believing.
$8.99 US | $11.99 CAN
Aug 16, 2016
5-1/16 x 7-3/4
Paperback
304 Pages
Puffin Books
Age 9-12 years
Grades 4-7
US, Canada, Open Mkt

978-0-14-751280-2
Juvenile Fiction - Animals - Nocturnal
Juvenile Fiction - Action & Adventure - Survival Stories
Juvenile Fiction - Social Themes - New Experience
A heartwarming and funny illustrated animal adventure by the award-winning author of Counting by 7s--great for fans of E. B. White and The Mouse with the Question Mark Tail.
$8.99 US | $11.99 CAN
Aug 02, 2016
6 x 7-1/2
Paperback
288 Pages
Puffin Books
Age 8-12 years
Grades 3-7
World

978-1-101-99611-9
Juvenile Nonfiction - Biography & Autobiography - Presidents & First Families (U.S.)
Juvenile Nonfiction - History - United States - General
Juvenile Nonfiction - People & Places - United States - General
Publishing in time for the 2016 Presidential election, readers can discover what it means to be President of the United States in this easy-to-read informational 8x8.
$3.99 US | $5.50 CAN
Aug 16, 2016
8 x 8
Paperback
32 Pages
Grosset & Dunlap
Age 3-5 years
Up to Kindergarten
World

978-1-101-99780-2
Juvenile Fiction - People & Places - United States - General
Juvenile Fiction - Classics
Juvenile Fiction - Holidays & Celebrations - Easter & Lent
Bestselling and beloved Madeline visits the Oval Office, just in time for the presidential election season.
$8.99 US | $11.99 CAN
Aug 02, 2016
8-3/4 x 12
Paperback
48 Pages
Puffin Books
Age 3-7 years
Preschool - 2
World

978-0-448-48942-1
Juvenile Fiction - Readers - Chapter Books
Juvenile Fiction - Mysteries & Detective Stories
Juvenile Fiction - Ghost Stories
Edgar Award Winner Dori Hillestad Butler gives us the eighth title in her not-too-scary chapter book mystery series, The Haunted Library.
$4.99 US | $6.99 CAN
Aug 16, 2016
5-1/8 x 7-5/8
Paperback
128 Pages
Grosset & Dunlap
Age 6-8 years
Grades 1-3
World

978-0-399-16684-6
Juvenile Fiction - Animals - Elephants
Juvenile Fiction - Family - New Baby
Juvenile Fiction - Social Themes - New Experience
The joyful arrival of a new baby elephant is heralded in this beautifully illustrated picture book by New York Times Bestseller Eliza Wheeler.
$16.99 US | $22.99 CAN
Aug 02, 2016
9 x 10
Hardcover
32 Pages
Nancy Paulsen Books
Age 3-5 years
Up to Kindergarten
World

978-0-8037-3868-3
Juvenile Fiction - Social Themes - Friendship
Juvenile Fiction - Imagination & Play
Juvenile Fiction - Social Themes - New Experience
A message in a bottle holds the promise of surprise and wonder, as told in this enthralling picture book, exquisitely illustrated by Caldecott Medalist Erin E. Stead
$17.99 US | $23.99 CAN
Aug 23, 2016
10-1/2 x 9-5/8
Hardcover
40 Pages
Dial Books
Age 4-8 years
Preschool - 3
World